VIRTUAL THIRD QUEST TRAINING DECEMBER

Registration has closed

Presenter: Marilyn Sprick, Author and Consultant

Learn to teach The Third Quest curriculum with fidelity and high success. This comprehensive (vs. targeted) intervention program provides instruction in vocabulary, word study, fluency, content knowledge (the scientific method and ancient history), comprehension, and study skills. It’s a fit for students who have plateaued and are not motivated by computer-based solutions. The program is proven at both Tiers 2 and 3 when implemented with fidelity.

TWO DAYS OF TRAINING & MATERIALS PROVIDED
Thursday, December 01, 8:30 am to 3 pm PT  (9:30 am to 4 pm MT/10:30 am to 5 pm CT/11:30 am  to 6 pm ET)
Why, What, and How it Works • Setting Up
How to deliver instruction: Arrival, Vocabulary, and Word Study
How to deliver instruction: Reader, CCSS, and Fluency Building

Thursday, December 08, 8:30 am to 11:45 am PT  (9:30 am to 12:45 pm MT/10:30 am to 1:45 pm CT/11:30 am  to 2:45 pm ET)
Progress Monitoring and Diagnostic Teaching

*SPECIAL OFFER FOR ADMINISTRATORS
Your support and encouragement of staff as they implement interventions for high risk readers goes a long way in the success of students. If you would like to join us for the first 1.5 hours of The Third Quest training on December 1, you can join your staff in understanding how The Third Quest works, what is needed for successful student outcomes, and the resources staff need. Select Admin below to register.

All session participants will receive: 

  • A full set of Student Materials
  • Program Overview (Section 1 of the Program Guide)
  • Appendix: Sample Teacher Guide pages (for use during training)
  • Training Manual
  • Access to videos and reproducibles

Admin participants will receive:

  • Program Overview
  • Training Manual
  • Access to videos, reproducibles

Materials will be sent to homes, so registration must be completed in time to mail materials.

To use a purchase order, please download and complete this registration form, then email to info@ancorapublishing.com or fax to 541.345.1507 along with a copy of your signed PO.

Register by November 16 for best rate. Registration closes November 23.

$75.00$450.00

Read more$450.00

Out of stock

Read more$75.00

Out of stock

Series:
Authors:
  • Marilyn Sprick
Type:
Professions:
Area of Focus:

Description

VIRTUAL TRAINING
Marilyn will meet with participants via two web meetings to simulate live and in-person training as much as possible. Sessions will not be recorded so participants can feel comfortable working interactively. Participants will:

  • Learn how to teach the program
  •  Develop a working knowledge of The Third Quest’s comprehensive programming 

  • Practice explicit routines for teaching vocabulary, word recognition skills, fluency, comprehension, content knowledge, and study skills 

  • Learn how to use internal progress monitoring data effectively 

  • Teach diagnostically to meet the needs of students 

WHO SHOULD ATTEND

Educators—teachers, specialists, instructional assistants, literacy coaches, and administrators working to treat/remediate reading deficits (fifth grade through high school).

BEFORE REGISTERING

Not sure if the program will fit your needs? Request a web meeting before signing up. Surf The Third Quest website. View the Program Overview, short videos, and assessment results.

VIRTUAL WORKSHOP FAQ

  • Live virtual workshop will be conducted via Zoom. Please look for a confirmation email from Zoom upon order confirmation.
  • Course price is for a single registrant and included materials. Please include the email address and shipping address for each individual registrant during checkout.
  • Sessions will not be recorded, so you must attend each live session.
  • Graduate-level professional development credit is available for this course through UMass Global.
  • Questions about this course? Please email info@ancorapublishing.com or call 866.542.1490.
  • Course texts will ship to arrive before December 1. Registration from outside the United States closes on November 11. U.S. registration closes November 23. Register on or before November 16 for best rate.
  • Marilyn Sprick

    Marilyn Sprick has been a general education teacher, special education teacher, and Title I learning specialist. As an educational consultant, Marilyn has provided training in literacy, curriculum adaptation, and collaborative instruction for thousands of teachers throughout the United States and Canada. Marilyn’s focus is on scaffolding and differentiating curriculum, explicit instruction, motivating students, and diagnostic prescriptive teaching. She is well respected for her ability to inspire teachers and translate research into classroom practice. As a literacy expert, Marilyn is the lead author of Read Well K-2 (a scientifically based early reading program) and The Third Quest—a reading intervention for adolescent struggling readers. Marilyn is also author of “Preintervention 2: Assessing and Adjusting Academic Support” in Early-Stage Interventions and a coauthor of Meaningful Work; The Tough Kid On-Task in a Box, part of the Tough Kid series; SMART Kids, a social skills curriculum for grades K-1; and First Step NEXT, a Tier 2 behavioral intervention for young children. Sign up here to subscribe to Marilyn Sprick's Newsletter for Literacy Nerds.